

# MINUTES OF THE CENTRAL AREA COMMITTEE MEETING HELD ON TUESDAY 12<sup>TH</sup> DECEMBER 2023

1 With reference to the minutes of the meeting held on 14th November 2023.

ORDER: Agreed.

2 With reference to the questions to the Area Managers.

ORDER: Noted.

3 With reference to the disposal of the fee simple in a site for an ESB substation at Rutland Row, Dublin 1.

ORDER: Agreed. Recommend to City Council.

4 With reference to a Naming and Numbering proposal for a development at Blackhorse Avenue, Dublin 7.

ORDER: Agreed.

5 With reference to the extinguishment of the public right of way over the laneway to the rear of multiple properties at Harbour Court, Dublin 1.

Vote taken: In Favour: Cllr Janice Boylan, Cllr. Christy Burke, Cllr. Deborah Byrne, Cllr. Ray McAdam, Cllr. Séamas McGrattan, Cllr. Cat O'Driscoll, Cllr. Colm O'Rourke, Cllr. Nial Ring. Against: Cllr. Janet Horner. Abstain: Cllr. Declan Meenagh, Cllr. Eimer McCormack Absent: Cllr. Darcy Lonergan.

ORDER: Agreed. Recommend to City Council.

6 With reference to a proposal to initiate the procedure for the extinguishment of the public right of way over the laneway to the rear of houses No. 2 No.4 Nottingham Street, Dublin 1.

ORDER: Agreed. Recommend to City Council.

7 With reference to Motions to the Area Managers.

### The following motions to the Area Managers were tabled:

Item 1

# Motion in the name of Councillor Christy Burke

That this Central Area Committee agree for two car spaces be allocated at Larkin Crèche and Stafford's Funeral Home on the North Strand Road.

ORDER: Agreed.

#### Item 2

# Motion in the name of Councillor Nial Ring

That this committee formally requests the National Transport Authority and/or Transport for Ireland to launch a public information campaign with the objective of advising/informing cyclists of their rights and obligations as road users, particularly relating to cycling on footpaths and adherence to traffic light signals.

ORDER: Agreed.

Item 3

#### Motion in the name of Councillor Nial Ring

That this committee requests the Minister for Justice to examine the possibility of the introduction of Community Courts as put forward by The Dublin City Business Association about ten years ago but shelved for some reason and did much work on this ten years ago based on a NYC model.

ORDER: Agreed.

#### Item 4

#### Motion in the name of Councillor Nial Ring

In view of the public opinion expressed at the recent workshops arranged to discuss the development of the Russell Avenue East, East Wall Playground, this committee supports the retention and upgrade of the football pitch there as part of any development of the "Laya"

ORDER: Agreed.

#### Item 5

#### Motion in the name of Councillor Christy Burke

This Central Area Committee calls on the OPW to take steps to prevent some dogs that are not on leads run around the grounds of our patriot dead at Arbour Hill grounds

As the graves of our 1916 leaders are being destroyed day by day, by dogs, I am requesting that the OPW place a picket fence, as this would resolve the issue.

ORDER: Agreed.

#### Item 6

#### Motion in the name of Councillor Ray McAdam

That the Area Committee expresses its concern about the proposed removal of the playing pitch as part of proposals to revitalise and enhance the Russell Avenue play space and streetscape programme.

ORDER: Agreed.

#### 8 With reference to the Office of City Recovery Public Domain Report.

ORDER: Report noted.

### 9 With reference to a request for nomination to serve on the Dublin Docklands Oversight and Consultative Forum (DOCF).

Order: Cllr. Deborah Byrne nominated.

# 10 With reference to the Area Management reports.

ORDER: Reports noted.

# 11 With reference to the Traffic Advisory Group minutes.

Order: Reports Noted.

#### 12 With reference to Sports in the Central Area.

ORDER: Report Noted.

#### 13 With reference to the North East Inner City Initiative.

ORDER: Report Noted.

#### <u>Cllr. Séamas McGrattan</u> Chairperson 12<sup>th</sup> December 2023

#### Members

Séamas McGrattan	Janice Boylan	Christy Burke	Deborah Byrne
Janet Horner	Darcy Lonergan	Declan Meenagh	Ray McAdam
Eimer McCormack	Cat O'Driscoll	Colm O'Rourke	Nial Ring

#### Officers

Lorraine Brogan	Brendan Doggett	Gráinne O'Grady	Maria Browne
John McPartlan	Leona Fynes	Marion Foran	Paul White
Will Mangan	Marie Kavanagh	Frank Lambe	Karl Mitchell
Gerry McEntagart	Mary Lynch	Cathy Cassidy	Catherine Brophy Walsh

Apologies Cieran Perry